Apple Tea Cake

 

A very simple cake, but one that always goes down well. When I moved out of home in 1992 my Mum gave me a cookbook (that I still use) to record my favourite recipes (BTW that is a great gift idea to give any young person leaving home. You can enter any of their favourite recipes from your cookbooks before you give it to them and it gives them a place to record new favourites). This recipe was one of the first to go in the cookbook. It was either a recipe I got from a Home Economics class in the 1980s, or was one of my Mum’s recipes.

Ingredients (Cake):

1 1/3 cup sifted self raising flour

1/2 cup sugar

1/3 cup milk

1 egg

1/4 cup butter

1/2 a green apple (or some tinned apple)

Ingredients: (Topping)

1 teaspoon  – 1/2 tablespoon sugar

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Method:

Preheat oven to 190 degrees Celcius

Grease and line (approx 20 cm) round tin.

Cream butter and sugar, add egg.

Add flour and milk alternatively and mix well and pour into prepared tin.

Peel an apple and slice thinly OR use pieces of tinned apple. Arrange on the top of the cake mixture.

Sprinkle sugar and cinnamon over top of apples and bake for 30 – 35 minutes (using a skewer to test the centre of the cake).

Notes:

This cake is at its best and softest if eaten the day it is made (you could probably eat it still warm with some whipped cream if you liked!), but will still taste good a day or two after it is made.

I used to cut up an apple, but these days I use tinned apple as I like the consistency it has in the cake. When I was younger I felt that just putting the apple on top of the cake meant there was not enough apple, so I used to also add chopped up apple to the batter. That was very nice too, although I don’t do it anymore and stick to the basic recipe.

The sugar and cinnamon topping ingredients are approximate as far as I am concerned. I tend to just sprinkle on as much as I want!

Explore posts in the same categories: Afternoon Tea, Baking, Fruit, Morning Tea, Recipes, Sweet treats

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Apple Tea Cake”

  1. youngwifey Says:

    Looks great!

  2. Sweetly Suze Says:

    This looks yum!
    I have been unable to decide what cake I wanted to try out today. My search ends here.
    Thanks for sharing.


  3. […] My Nana’s Recipes blog had a very simple apple teacake recipe using ingredients I already had on hand. If I may say […]


Leave a Reply

